Polski Português
Română Русский
සිංහල Slovenščina
Srpski Svenska
ภาษาไทย Türkçe
Українська 简体中文

Who is online? (12)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: iambic or not?

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2013-07-12 10:41
Hi,
I picked up learning cw again and got a nice Begali key. I started using the iambic squeezing. It changes keying just for some characters, which makes the process inconsistend somehow in my eyes. Also I am afraid that this technique might mess up my skills, since I am still learning.

Any thougts in this?

73 de Marc DL1MRD

Posted: 2013-07-18 18:34
OK, the king bear is ashamed in his hole. I try again with other text, because my by moderation bitbucketed text was not recorded at my QTH:

Sending Morse code

There are three possibilities:

1. With a straight key
2. with a Cootie key (sideswiper or double speed key)
3. With single paddle
4. With dual paddles

1. The antique way. Easiest to master, and there are people right now busy with making Morse code an unmaterial world heritage and hence protected under UNESCO.

So you can expect a rewarding fund when you demonstrate to master copy and sending code in the air with a straight key and copy by ear at least 20 wpm in order to keep the unmaterial heritage conserved.

2. A cootie key, that is a part of a one sided squeezed on a fixed base plate iron saw cutting blade that you can move to the right and to the left at the other end of it. The purpose is it always moving opposite the last movement, so left right left right and so on. Left you make a sending contact, right also. In that way you can

make dots and dashes. Advantage: A straight key requires for every dot and dash two movements: Down and Up. The