Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (11)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: After lesson 40

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2022-01-26 08:10
Hi!

I have been training for 2 months and are finally able to decode lesson 40 at 20/12. It's probably a good idea to continue practicing to be able to get a consistent good score on lesson 40, but what should I do after that?

Is the next step to gradually decrease the spacing to 20/20 before moving on?

Posted: 2022-01-26 16:14
isaksson:
Hi!
Is the next step to gradually decrease the spacing to 20/20 before moving on?

Yes, assuming that reading morse at 20wpm is your goal.

Other people had success at a 'meet in middle' approach where they aim for (say) 18/18 and adjust both figures.

Either way you are ending up at correctly spaced morse.

Given that you have started at 20wpm I suggest you just keep upping the /12 by 1 wpm every time you get a 'good' 90% correct copy (by this I mean consistently - so you feel happy with it).

If you haven't had a go at the 'word training' yet then I suggest that you start that at a fixed speed of 20 wpm as an extra practice - you can start with short words and then make them longer (I found this helped me).

Posted: 2022-01-26 17:59
Hi,

What is your overriding goal?

do you want to use cw on air?
do you have an amateur radio license?
can you send Morse code?
do you have an operational amateur radio station?

My suggestion (if yes): create a minimal QSO template, learn CW-Operating Procedures, practice it and go on air.

with 12wpm you can run QSOs.
There are special frequencies for QRS.

Rüdiger
DD5RK

Posted: 2022-01-27 14:48
Thanks for your advice!