Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (30)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Straight or iambic which is EASIER

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2021-10-17 05:59
I am brand new to morse code and find it very difficult to go faster than 25/5. In about 2 weeks of training I'm still on lesson 7 struggling to get up to 25/5. So, I also want practice sending and would appreciate input on the ease of learning straight key or iambic. Not wanting to complicate my learning any more than is necessary which is easier to learn on and is the skill from one transferable to the other in any degree?

Posted: 2021-10-17 12:19
KK7ASP:
I am brand new to morse code and find it very difficult to go faster than 25/5. In about 2 weeks of training I'm still on lesson 7 struggling to get up to 25/5.

Are you making progress through the lessons ?. Learn first - speed up afterwards then . .

KK7ASP:

So, I also want practice sending and would appreciate input on the ease of learning straight key or iambic. Not wanting to complicate my learning any more than is necessary which is easier to learn on and is the skill from one transferable to the other in any degree?

The "straight key" ( up and down ) is all manual so you have total control of timings . . .
as opposed to having to match the ( setting you selected on the ) mechanism when using electronic keyers or a bug.

This means you will send what you intended to send - but the timings may be bad.

The sideswiper similarly is all manual, but you go fast by doing each next dit or dah on the opposite side to the one you just did - so a bit more to get used to and of course a side-to-side action.