Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (18)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: How to best proceed?

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2009-12-16 22:06
Hello, I am new to CW and really would like to learn it. After starting until lecture 7, I decreased the eff. speed to 6/7 WPM, keeping the morse sign speed at 20 WPM. This was a mistake maybe, because more and more I was finding myself thinking about what letter to write. Now I restarted at 12 WPM eff. But how to write down the letters at that speed? Having a lot of e's brings me out of synch, because I can not write the letters quick enough. Any tips how to best do this and how to proceed?

Tanks
Michael

Posted: 2009-12-17 06:16
I'm new too - I'm using 20 WPM sign speed, ranging the effective speed from 5-10 (I go back and redo old lessons at higher speeds - then when I get to new material it sounds 'slow' at 7...)

I type what I hear on the keyboard rather than write it out longhand - much faster! I think that handwriting is not very effective over about 10 wpm - mine is almost unreadable if I try to write that fast, and I miss a lot of stuff.

I did try simplifying the characters to write them more quickly -=> using '
Administrator

Posted: 2009-12-17 11:20
Hello Michael,

when I started learning CW, I developed a set of abbreviations for "fast" letters like the "E". I actually wrote all letters in print (Druckschrift), not cursive (Schreibschrift), and the E was the major bottleneck. So I simply made a dot (centered vertically, to avoid confusion with a period) instead of the E. Likewise, I abbreviated the T by writing a single dash. With some more letter simplified like that, my best speed I reached in copying code groups was about 32wpm.