Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (21)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: To Farnsworth or not to Farnsworth? That is the question.

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2020-09-02 22:51
I've had an interesting experience. I am just learning CW. i had been using YouTube and have learned a few of the signs. Some of them are slowish but i thought that was the way to learn. Then i read about Farnsworth/Koch. Ok. Made sense. Got an app which i like, Morse trainer. Been listening with Farnsworth engaged. Then i decided to slow it down and turn off the Farnsworth setting. There result? I couldn't understand the characters! I was really surprised. So my take away is maybe you should listen at different does because you might need to understand someone's slow coding one day!

Posted: 2020-09-03 12:25

Some of the first part of learning to decode morse is to find out what your aptitude actually is . . .

Some people get to 25/25 in a week or two . . others may take 2 years to get to their personal maximum of 20/20

One important think to bear in mind is that if you go too fast,
you will appear to be making progress,
but that progress will stall after a few lessons
and you will find you haven't really leaned much at all
and have to start again.

Lots of people start again - for a number of reasons - but you really want to avoid this.

Most people faced with "start again" give up - at least for some time.

On the other hand - if you go too slow you only waste time . . .

The first component of learning to decode is to learn to recognise the characters.

Then building up ( by sufficient repetition ) to this becoming an automatic response
requiring no effort - as if the characters just appear in you head.

To avoid losing interest and giving up,