Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (20)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Why learn morse code?

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2020-08-22 02:05
I'm a musician. For whatever reason, I downloaded a "learn morse code" app on tour once. It was a good way to kill time in the van. I recently picked it up again and found this site. I like it a lot more than the app.

Anyway, I'm just curious why y'all do it. I have no idea why I'm doing it. I suppose simply because I find it fun, in its way.

Posted: 2020-08-22 11:27
ialdabaoth:
I'm just curious why y'all do it. I have no idea why I'm doing it. I suppose simply because I find it fun, in its way.

Ham Radio
Boy Scouts
Dad knew it . .
Friends learning it . .
Read about it in a book
Heard it in a film/TV prog
Prepers
Heard it was a challenge
. . .

https://lcwo.net/forum/689

Posted: 2020-08-22 13:01
The question is entirely justified. The local amateur radio club I am in considers Morse code to be out of order and obsolete.
Morse code no longer has any commercial significance. It is a hobby.
Morse code is a skill similar to playing a musical instrument. You can't buy this skill; you have to work hard to get it. I am a radio amateur. I want to communicate with this operating mode. The advantage of Morse code is that you can use it to operate self-made transmitters. You can go very far with small power. I have already been received in the USA with 1W transmission power (I live in Germany).

Morse code is a world heritage.
https://www.unesco.de/en/morse-telegraphy

Posted: 2020-08-22 13:28
DD5RK:
The question is entirely justified. The local amateur radio club I am in considers Morse code to be out of order and obsolete.

No contesters ??

DD5RK: