Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (23)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Confused on Learning Progression???

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2020-07-23 21:52
Hello, total newbie here trying to understand the best way to learn this. I understand the idea of learning each letter by the complete sound and not breaking it up into di dah dit. I am trying to do that having my speed at 25/10, But how do I transition to sending CW if i have not learned the breakdown of the individual letters?

Second thought, I am confused at when to start sending QSO's. I read where you should get out there and do it, but wouldn't you need to be familiar or have a handle on all the letters at least to be able to understand and send anything? It seems that I can not really understand or make coherent sentences let alone words using the letters k,m,u, and r?

I am sure I am overthinking this but I have free time and access to You-tube. :)

Posted: 2020-07-23 23:12
I'm also a newbie, but with 1 and a half years practice now. I had exactly same thoughts as you in the beginning, and thought I'd never be sending. But someone told me not to worry about sending, until having learnt to copy all characters, and then sending would be no problem. And although I doubted that sending would come easy, I must admit that it did. When you know how the characters sound, you can easily reproduce the sound with your hand. You'll be able to tell if it sounds right or not... So first learn to copy, and sending will come almost by itself - believe me...