Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (38)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Entering missed letters

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2019-01-06 19:43
Hi,

What do you guys enter for a missed letter?

I am just starting out (I'm on lesson 9), but have found I do better by writing down the letters on paper first, and then entering them to check my accuracy.

What should I enter when I miss a letter? I have been using the '?' sign which is ok, but I'm wondering when I get to the actual code for the '?' things might get mixed up.

If I do a space then it thinks that it is a new set.

Thanks.

Posted: 2019-01-06 20:21
In general advised is to enter a dot or hyphen punctuation.

Due to you learn code groups in the lessons, this habit was essential in interceptor telegraphy during WW2

NEVER EVER start thinking about what you missed, because you will miss a bunch of succeeding characters by recovering the missed one.

Nowadays you read plain text, when you jot down with a pencil this is a preferred method. Think about you could only decode Morse code with a type writer, and you have no one at hand...

So very good that you WRITE DOWN what you hear.

When a transmission stops, it is easy to fill in the missed characters, due to redundancy in plain text.

When you gain proficiency you will learn to listen to the code and decode t in your mind without writing or typing. Just like listening to a speaker, only writing down what you want to remember like names, telephone numbers and the like.

Posted: 2019-01-07 14:27
Thank you for the comments. I will use the '-' from now on. I just tried it and worked well.

I am trying very hard not to worry about missed letters, but sometimes my brain just gets stuck!