Polski Português
Română Русский
සිංහල Slovenščina
Srpski Svenska
ภาษาไทย Türkçe
Українська 简体中文

Who is online? (20)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: How fast to start off?

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2018-10-13 20:11
Hi everyone. I am glad to have found LCWO.
I have been learning CW on and off for around 18 months now. Random numbers and letters I am quite comfortable with. My biggest difficulty is actual words or qsos.
I am currently using the default setting Character Speed = 20 wpm, Effective Speed = 10 wpm, Tone = 800 Hz, - Which in effect is around 15WPM I think.
would you recommend this speed or to try and up it?
Thanks!

Posted: 2018-10-15 10:30
There are two different hurdles:

1. the first is actually recognising the characters at a given speed (this is a hurdle you seem to have overcome) and

2. the second is that when the time lag between recognising one character and the next is too long, for a given speed, you will forget the characters in between.

I would suggest that you train at a realistic working speed, for instance 20/20 , without feeling that you have to recognise everything and just let it happen. It is a bit like listening to a foreign language, over time the brain fills in the gaps and things start to gel.

I have found memorising the 100 most common words in English extraordinarily helpful : I prepared a list of the 100 most common words in Microsoft Word, pasted each word 4 times (i.e. each word was repeated 5 times), converted the text to CW using the "Convert text to CW" option on LCWO and then listened to the words by batches of 20 until I had them memorised. I am now doing the same thing with the 1,000 most common words.

After memorising the sounds of the words, I drilled recognition using G4fon's marvelous program.