Polski Português
Română Русский
සිංහල Slovenščina
Srpski Svenska
ภาษาไทย Türkçe
Українська 简体中文

Who is online?

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Frustrated because 20/6 is doing me no good in the real world

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2018-09-08 06:46
I'm on Lesson 11/40, currently (but I know more letters than that).

I am trying to understand QSO's on air, and the 20/6 spacing I'm studying at with LCWO seems to not be helpful. I'm learning letters, but I'm not able to use them because people more beginner (like me) are usually sending around 10/10 to 12/12 or so. The letters are so long they are confusing me, yet the spaces are so short, they're too fast.

I'm unable to even RX a CQ after listening to it on air, sent a half dozen times.

I am thinking to throw this all out the window and start over at 15/10, so I'm at least undestanding SOME people.

Thoughts?

Posted: 2018-09-08 17:11
That spacing is the time you use to decode what you just heard, ( when you first start learning cw
and until it becomes a bit more "automatic", and you are reading behind )
so
the 10/10 people are in a certain sense going faster than you are at 20/6

If you are making good progress at 20/x then I think you might as well run quickly through all the 40 lessons
because
20/20 is not a bad speed for real world cw - lots of us never get above 20wpm

6:50 min
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPwxgH-BE10&t=30s&ab_channel=burt2481

If you are proceeding slowly then you might be better changing . . .

If you are making your own QSOs then faster senders should be slowing down to match your sending.

Have you considered making up some morse mp3 files to listen to on your phone in spare 10 mins etc through the day.

You don't have to measure your speed all the time and learning more is really a process of repetition . .