Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (44)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Old dog, new trick

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2018-07-04 20:30
Am I the only one who's tried to learn CW at 66 years old and half deaf.. I started learning in 1969 in high school but girls, My hearing aids say do not use with headphones, so I'm trying to learn with out them. Headphones are better because I'm not hearing background noise as well and CW is quieter than ssb. Am I tilting at windmills, or can I get this? I know most letters and numbers to send but copying is very frustrating. Wish me luck.

Posted: 2018-07-05 11:18
Hi Frank, I find headphones are much better than a speaker because no reflections off walls etc. According to Bill Peirpont in "The Art and Skill of Radiotelegraphy" free online, people have learned up to their nineties so there is hope for you and I, GL, Rich G4FAD..

Posted: 2018-07-05 20:14
Hello Frank,
it also depends, which kind of ear problem you have. Did your ear Dr. ever measure your frequency response? Did you get a printout? Often the higher frequencies above 1 or 2 kHz are getting much weaker, but 500 Hz is still sensitive. In this case you need to find out, which frequency is still getting through on both ears. In case your head phone/amlifier is loud enough on that frequency you found, leaving the hearing aids away, would be an advantage.
73, Bernd

Posted: 2018-07-10 03:57
Hey Frank, I'm 72 and just started and I am frustrated with copying as well but I want to stick with it. I am finding that 25 character WPM and a slow (4) effective WPM gives me time to type responses better. Hope to increase with time.

Posted: 2018-07-13 09:41
I'm 43 and I'm getting back into it.

There's no "too old", and don't let anyone tell you there is.