Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (17)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Lesson 1 at 20/5: next lesson or work up to 20/10?

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2017-10-15 08:42
Hi,

I'm a total CW newbie and I just created an account here. I read the entire recent thread, "Having a hard time getting it" and learned quite a bit about the learning process here - very informative! However I still have 2 questions that I feel I need some light shed on before I know how to proceed:

1. I'm on lesson 1 and, like many, I found 20/10 too fast to start with; so I'm starting at 20/5. at 20/5 I get well over 90% (often 100%) but when I increase the speed it gets harder quickly. Should I stay at 20/5 and move on through the next lessons OR should I increase my speed on lesson 1 (to 20/10?) before going to lesson 2, etc?

2. When I speed up (or even sometimes at 20/5) I will often type an "M" and realize that I actually heard a "K" (or vice versa); then, on reflex, I back-space/delete it, but by then another letter or 2 goes by and I get totally derailed. The software then can't even evaluate my performance because there's the wrong number of letters. Should I just accept the "typo" as a wrong letter, even though I usually knew which letter it was and just hit the wrong key?

Thanks for any help anyone can offer!

Bob

Posted: 2017-10-15 13:47
The problem with learning CW is perseverance. When you decide to learn CW, dependent on your age you have to reserve at least a month (8-16 years old) but usually a year of regular daily exercises for persons over 30 years old. That means a quarter of an hour exercising each, EACH EACH AND EVERY DAY.