Polski Português
Română Русский
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文

Who is online?

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Need some advise about my learning methods

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2017-02-22 22:45
Hi all !

It's been months since I started learning cw. I read a part of N0HFF book, and I decided to learn all the letters, one by one.

Consequently, I don't follow the system of "lesson". Currently, I'm on the 24th symbol, on 20/10 wpm.

Nevertheless, I have a problem : I still don't recognize the letters instantly.

In your opinion, should I persevere in my way, or start the lcwo.net method (>90% of success with K-M, before going to lesson 2, etc...).

Thank you !

Posted: 2017-02-24 04:53
In my opinion, you should follow the LWCO method. I don't know much about the history of the Koch method this is based on, but the principle seems very logical to me. It took me about three months, 15 to 30 minutes per day, to learn all 40 characters with about 95% accuracy on average. It was (and still is) frustrating at times, and I felt a few times like I was stuck. But I trusted the method and kept at it.

I'm only at character speed 15, effective speed 10, but my goal now is to increase my speed gradually (once I get a little closer to 100% accuracy at my current speed).

Posted: 2017-02-24 21:33
Ok, I'll try.

Thank you !

Posted: 2017-02-27 11:53
It usually takes me three years to learn a new language well enough to effortlessly communicate in it. That seems to include Morse code. I've been at it for 2 years and feel good about my progress.

Posted: 2017-03-21 12:17
So, I need to keep practicing and see.

As dmeissner advised me, I've been starting to use the lcwo method, a month ago. I am currently to lesson 6, and I have two new questions :