Português Română
Русский සිංහල
Slovenščina Srpski
Svenska ภาษาไทย
Türkçe Українська
简体中文
Who is online? (32)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: Farnsworth speed

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2017-02-05 21:21
Hi Chris, hi brushupCW,

I'm 36 years old, CW newbie, I got my German full license in autumn of 2015 and now I want to learn CW :-) Especially for DXing or working DX stations in huge pile-ups, CW is absolutely mandatory. I am writing you because I am not sure about the "right" method HOW to learn CW.

Some days ago, I started learning using the KOCH Morse trainer of G4FON, very similar to LCWO. I've chosen 25/9 WPM (25 WPM actual speed and 9 WPM effective Code speed), currently I am on the 8th letter using the MJF 418 learnig order. Sometimes I also try 25/12 or 30/11 but that is currently a real challenge for me. I write down all the characters with a biro on paper. When I copied 90% correctly and when I have the feeling that listening to the characters does not stress me too much, I take the next character. That's how I am currently learning.

BUT: I'm not sure if this is the right strategy. I also read the well-known articles from N0HFF and IK0YGJ. IK0YGJ starts with 15/1. To avoid starting to count (that is possible at 15 WPM), I choose the target speed from the beginning of my training. In my opinion, 25 WPM or 30 WPM prevents me to start counting.

However, some hams see a second trap. They claim that it is possible to become a so-called Farnsworth victim, see
http://www.mail-archive.com/elecraft@mailman.qth.net/msg52776.html
http://www.mail-archive.com/elecraft@mailman.qth.net/msg52796.html
(especially the last paragraph of Kevin Stover)