Polski Português
Română Русский
සිංහල Slovenščina
Srpski Svenska
ภาษาไทย Türkçe
Українська 简体中文

Who is online? (27)

LCWO Discussion Forum [Atom LCWO Forum Feed]

This is a simple discussion forum for LCWO users. Feel free to use it for any kind of discussion related to this website.

Thread: starting over

Back to the Forum

AuthorText

Posted: 2015-09-07 18:03
Hi, My name is Ken and I'm new to the group.
I've been working on learning cw for almost 2 months now and I'm looking for suggestions on how to proceed. I have done most of my practicing with the morse machine app on my android phone. I am comfortable with all 40 characters sent at 25-30 wpm. I am at about 90-95% accurate at those speeds. The problem with morse machine is you have all the time you want to type the character before going on to the next one. It's great for recognizing the sound of the characters but doesn't help you in coping real code without spaces between the characters. When copying live code I can recognize the characters but quickly fall behind.

I'd like to start over using LCWO.
I'll start at Code Groups lesson 1 and repeat at different speeds until I can copy well at 20-25 WPM. The question I have is what is the best strategy for the initial speed settings. Should I start at 20/7, run through all characters and then start again at 20/10, then 20/15? Or should I start at 15/15 and then start again at 18/18? How long should I set the session length for? 1 minute is way too short and I think 5 minutes may be too long. I've tried listening to the ARRL code practice files but because on my learning at 25-30 WPM I find it difficult to recognize characters sent slowly. At 5 - 10 WPM I find myself counting dits and dahs which is a step backwards.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Ken
KF7DUR

Posted: 2015-09-27 11:20